Religion & Culture
Need Help?
Religion & Culture: General Works
This page features reference books, scholarly journals, and databases that are generally helpful for studies in Religion and Culture. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Reference
Scholarly Journals
- Culture and Religion: An Interdisciplinary JournalCulture and Religion is an interdisciplinary journal seeking an engagement between scholars working across a range of disciplinary fields, including anthropology, cultural studies, critical theory and gender studies, and postcolonial studies.
- History of ReligionsHistory of Religions strives to publish scholarship that reflects engagement with particular traditions, places, and times and yet also speaks to broader methodological and/or theoretical issues in the study of religion. Toward encouraging critical conversations in the field, HR also publishes review articles and comprehensive book reviews by distinguished authors.
- International Journal for Philosophy of ReligionThe International Journal for Philosophy of Religion (IJPR) provides a medium for the exposition, development, and criticism of important philosophical insights and theories relevant to religion in any of its varied forms. It also provides a forum for critical, constructive, and interpretative consideration of religion from an objective philosophical point of view.
- The Journal for Cultural and Religious TheoryThe Journal for Cultural and Religious Theory is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to both disciplinary and interdisciplinary scholarship of a cutting-edge nature that deals broadly with the phenomenon of religious and cultural theory.
- The Journal of ReligionThe Journal of Religion is one of the publications by which the Divinity School of The University of Chicago seeks to promote critical, hermeneutical, historical, and constructive inquiry into religion.
Databases
AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]
AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury Cultural History is a digital reference tool comprising curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections. It offers an authoritative survey of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Indigenous Studies Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, and researchers to electronic resources, such as books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps.
Online Resources
- The Jewish EncyclopediaDigital, unedited reproduction of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia (1901-1906) containing over 15,000 articles and illustrations. While it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History, it does contain an incredible amount of historical information.
- LGBTQ Religious Archives NetworkThe LGBTQ-RAN Collections Catalog identifies more than 330 primary source collections from or about LGBTQ+ religious organizations or activists. Most, but not all, collections listed in this catalog are held in public archives and are open for research to everyone.