Religion & Culture
Need Help?
REL 2710: Classical Islam
This page features resources for the course REL-2710: Classical Islam. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Suggested Keywords:
- Islamic civilization
- Islam history
- Islam and culture
- Islam customs and practices
- Islamic law
- Muhammad (Prophet)
- Qur'an history
Books
Scholarly Journals
- Islamic StudiesIslamic Studies [...] publishes research articles, notes, comments, review-articles and book-reviews in all disciplines of Islamic Studies including the Qur’an, Hadith, Tafsir, Sirah, ‘Ilm al-Kalam, Jurisprudence, Fiqh, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Psychology, Anthropology, Sociology, Culture, Civilization, Economics, Language, Literature, History, Science and Technology.
- Journal of Islamic StudiesThe Journal seeks to place Islam and the Islamic tradition as its central focus of academic inquiry and to encourage comprehensive consideration of its many facets; to provide a forum for the study of Islam and Muslim societies in their global context; to encourage interdisciplinary studies of the Islamic world that are crossnational and comparative; to promote the diffusion, exchange and discussion of research findings; and to encourage interaction among academics from various traditions of learning.
Open Educational Resources
Databases
AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]
AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.