History
Online Encyclopedias
For reference sources related to massacres and atrocities committed against Indigenous peoples, see also the Subject Guide for Indigenous Studies.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by Call Number: REF HV 6322.7 E532 2005 vols. 1-2ISBN: 9780028658476Publication Date: 2004-10-29Genocide: the systematic annihilation of a group of people for simply being who they are, whether in ethnic, religious or social terms. It has been with us since the beginning of history. The most widely-studied and catastrophic examples are, however, historically close: the Nazi Holocaust against the Jew, ethnic cleansing in Bosnia, and tribal warfare in Rwanda. Genocide is unfortunately a key feature of the study of world history at nearly every level. The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity at specific groups or at least punishing those who have committed such crimes.
Genocide by Call Number: Online - MyiLibraryISBN: 9780415486194Publication Date: 2010-09-08Genocide: A Comprehensive Introduction is the most wide-ranging textbook on genocide yet published. The book is designed as a text for upper-undergraduate and graduate students, as well as a primer for non-specialists and general readers interested in learning about one of humanity’s enduring blights.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia by Call Number: REF D 804.25 H66 2001ISBN: 9780300084320Publication Date: 2001-03-29"The Holocaust Encylopedia is the only comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing both a reflective overview of the subject and abundant detail concerning major events, policy, decisions, cities, and individuals. Up-to-date and designed for easy access, the encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust in essays by scholars from eleven countries who draw on a number of sources - including recently uncovered evidence from the former Soviet bloc - to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, and moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, and individuals."
Suggested Subject Headings
- For "Ethnic cleansing" see: Forced migration; Population transfers; Ethnic conflict
- Genocide - NamibiaUse for genocide of Herero peoples by Germany, 1904-1907
Databases
- Encyclopedia of Mass ViolenceThe Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence provides chronological indexes, case studies, analytical contributions on socio-political violence in a given country, a glossary of the terms most often used in genocide studies, as well as theoretical papers written by the most representative authors in the field.
- Peace Research AbstractsPeace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 245,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Primary Sources
- Eurodocs - Shoah (Holocaust)These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions. The links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
They shed light within the respective countries over a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible, and may include video or sound files, maps, databases, and other documentation.
Institute for Holocaust, Genocide and Memory Studies
Loading ...
Museums, Libraries and Institutes
- Armenian National Institute"Dedicated to the study, research and affirmation of the Armenian Genocide."
- Canadian Museum for Human RightsThe purpose of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights is to explore the subject of human rights, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, in order to enhance the public's understanding of human rights, to promote respect for others and to encourage reflection and dialogue.
- Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies - University of MinnesotaThe Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies (CHGS) is an independent academic resource institution dedicated to educating all sectors of society about the Holocaust and other genocides.
- The Center for the Study of Genocide, Conflict Resolution, and Human RightsThe Center for the Study of Genocide, Conflict Resolution, and Human Rights seeks to enhance our understanding of and find solutions to the most pressing 21st century challenges. To this end, the Center promotes cutting-edge research and scholarship on related issues such as genocide, conflict resolution, environmental change, sustainable development, transitional justice, and human rights abuses.
- Institute for Holocaust Genocide and Memory StudiesThe Institute for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at the University of Massachusetts Amherst is a center for the study of the Holocaust and issues related to this and other acts of genocide.
- Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights Studies"MIGS is recognized internationally as Canada’s leading research and advocacy Institute for genocide and mass atrocity crimes prevention, the Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights Studies (MIGS) conducts in-depth scholarly research and proposes concrete policy recommendations to resolve conflicts before they degenerate into mass atrocity crimes."
- Ucrainica Research Institute - Holodomor ExhibitThe exhibit includes panels ranging from opposition to collectivization, to why the genocide was organized, to how the genocide was organized (including the blacklisting of villages, ban on travel, and export of grain abroad), to why the Holodomor was indeed a genocide.
- Ukrainian Genocide Famine FoundationMission: To further public awareness of the Genocide of 1932-33 through educational programs, lectures, public exhibits, media presentations, internet resources
and cooperative ventures with governmental and education institutions, libraries and museums... - United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumThe Museum has many resources for teachers striving to help students learn the history of the Holocaust and reflect upon the moral and ethical questions raised by that history.
Revisionist Web Resources
Warning: Readers may find some or all of these sites offensive.The materials linked to on this page are included to provide a glimpse into how controversial debates over genocides are, and to illustrate the inflammatory nature of some of these websites. Their inclusion in no way represents an endorsement of quality or accuracy on the part of the University of Winnipeg Library.
Use the criteria in the History subject guide as guidelines for assessing the content of these websites.
- Armenian Genocide"In my blog I'm not going to prove or deny the fact of Armenian genocide as it's as stupid and ridiculous as to discuss or argue about the fact of the Earth's moving round the Sun."
- The Armenian Genocide Debate"[AGD is] a non-partisan independent organization of historians, researchers, and scholars who research the issue, report on the history, and explain events and peoples and persons involved in these events"
- Committee for Open Debate on the Holocaust"CODOH was founded to encourage a free exchange of ideas with regard to the orthodox Holocaust narrative."
- The Holocaust History Project"The Holocaust History Project is dedicated to fighting Holocaust-denial (or "revisionism"), whether based on a hatred of Jews or a desire to rehabilitate the discredited philosophy of National Socialism."
- Institute for Historical Review"The Institute for Historical Review is an independent educational research and publishing center that works to promote peace, understanding and justice through greater public awareness of the past, and especially socially-politically relevant aspects of twentieth-century history."
- Custer West - No Genocide on the Plains"The 'Native American' 'genocide' is a famous myth spread around the world. But it isn't the truth."
- Tall Armenian Tale"Was there an Armenian Genocide? None of us who are rational and reasonable can say with absolute certainty. However, all we can rely on are cold, hard FACTS."
- Hidden from History: The Canadian Holocaust"The Untold story of the genocide of Aboriginal peoples in Canada" by Kevin Annett.
- Revisiting the "Rwandan Genocide""The tales told about the ‘Rwandan genocide’ are intended to disarm critical reason and deflect attention away from the even larger atrocities and the even greater war criminals that Western imperialism is trying to hide."
Researching Native American Genocide
The topic of genocide in the Americas is considered a controversial one: within the field of genocide studies there is considerable debate as to whether or not what was inflicted on the continent's Indigenous peoples qualified as "genocide." The government of Canada does not recognize the use of this term in this context. As such, researching Native American genocide poses some difficulties, as standard subject headings related to genocide rarely apply. A small percentage of titles have been assigned the subject headings "Genocide - Canada" or "Genocide - United States." More often, however these are the commonly used headings:
Indians of North America --
- Treatment of
- Violence against
- Crimes against
- Assimilation
- Government relations
- Relocation
- Education
- Wars
See also:
- United States – Ethnic Relations
- United States – Race relations
- Columbus, Christopher -- Influence
- Forced migration - United States
- Massacres – United States
- California -- Gold Discoveries -- social aspects
Copyright