Religion & Culture
Need Help?
REL 3940 (4940): Religion & Politics
This page features resources for the course REL-3940/4940: Religion and Politics. You can find more by searching the Library catalogue, or look up databases and journals by title.
Suggested Keywords:
- Religion and politics
- TIP: Replace "religion" with the name of a specific religion, or add geographical terms to narrow your search, e.g.:
- Christianity and politics
- Islam and politics Asia
- TIP: Replace "religion" with the name of a specific religion, or add geographical terms to narrow your search, e.g.:
- Political theology
- Religion and state
- Religion and international affairs
- Religion and law
- Church and state
- Civil religion
- Freedom of religion
- Secularism
- Religious pluralism
Books
Scholarly Journals
- Politics and ReligionAn international journal publishing high quality peer-reviewed research on the multifaceted relationship between religion and politics around the world.
- Journal for the Scientific Study of ReligionA multi-disciplinary journal that publishes articles, research notes, and book reviews on the social scientific study of religion, including the the work of scholars in sociology, anthropology, economics, health sciences, religious studies, psychology, and political science.
- Political TheologyInvestigates the connections between religious and political ideas and practices. The journal is interdisciplinary, drawing on theology, religious studies, politics, philosophy, ethics, cultural studies, social theory, and economics.
- Politics, Religion & IdeologyA leading international forum for the scholarly exploration of the politics of illiberal ideologies, both religious and secular.
Databases
AtlaSerials [EBSCOhost]
AtlaSerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It includes citations from journals, essay, multi-author works, book review and multimedia. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury Cultural History is a digital reference tool comprising curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections. It offers an authoritative survey of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.
Indigenous Studies Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, and researchers to electronic resources, such as books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps.